Long-sightedness - Hyperopia

Farsightedness is the visual disorder characterised by blurred near vision. Farsightedness, usually a congenital defect, is caused by a shortening of the eye.

Improvement of long-sightedness, incl. regular eye checks

Farsightedness, usually a congenital defect, is caused by a shortening of the eye. People who are farsighted can usually still see well in the distance, while objects in the near distance appear blurred. The opposite is true for short-sighted people: objects near appear sharp and those far away appear blurred.

Normal farsightedness can be caused by two different things: Axial hyperopia or refractive hyperopia. If the eyeball is actually shortened, this results in axial hyperopia, which restricts vision. If there is too little refractive power in the corneal vitreous body-eye lens system (optical apparatus), refractive hyperopia can occur. It is advisable for all sufferers to have their eyes checked regularly by an ophthalmologist.

Examples of farsightedness - hyperopia

Long-sightedness Without impairment

Objects that are very close to each other are intended for persons with Long-sightedness (also called hyperopia, hyperopia or hypermetropia) only blurred.

Treatment options for farsightedness

Treatment options:

Long-sightedness can be improved with different methods.

Spectacle lenses or contact lenses compensate for the defective vision.

In certain cases, farsightedness can even be cured with an operation. The aim is to enable the patient to see clearly without glasses.

If several methods are combined, farsightedness can often be treated well.

Operative correction of farsightedness

In the surgical therapy procedure, the cornea is permanently flattened with a laser.

The laser processes are called Photorefractive keratectomy PRK, LASIK or LASEK.

In the best case, the laser procedure can be used to cure myopia.

Long-sightedness can be corrected with the laser up to a strength of +4 diopters.

Laser procedures for short-sightedness and long-sightedness

There is an almost infinite range of eye laser procedures, which differ from each other to a greater or lesser extent. These can be divided into two main groups: the superficial and the deep procedures. The main difference is in the procedure and the target tissue layer. The most important and current procedures are the following:

Femto-LASIK (Laser In Situ Keratomileusis)

Femto-LASIK is the most frequently performed laser treatment and life-style operation with the highest satisfaction in humans. Under local anaesthesia, a thin flap (approx. 0.1 mm thick) is first prepared on the surface of the cornea with the Femto-LASER. This takes about 25 seconds. The eye is kept open with a lid retractor (you cannot close the eye)....

Trans-PRK (transepithelial photorefractive keratectomy)

With trans-PRK (also called SmartSight), the correction is performed on the surface of the cornea under local anaesthesia and after an eyelid retractor holds the eye open, without contact or incisions. The epithelium (the cells on the surface of the cornea that are constantly regenerating) is also automatically removed by the LASER. Previously, these were removed manually by the surgeon (PRK method). Am...

Artificial lens implants: Correction of higher refractive errors

Apart from LASER treatments, correction of refractive errors is also possible very precisely with the implantation of phakic lenses in the eye, in addition to the patient's own lens (phakic lenses). These treatments have been carried out for 30 years and have been performed several million times. The worldwide trend towards implamtation is constantly increasing. Indications:- More severe refractive errors- Also for small corrections if...

Appointments at the Augencenter Wollishofen

If you cannot find an online appointment within a reasonable time, please contact us by phone.

Dr. med.
Dominique Mustur

Owner, Medical Director, Ophthalmologist, incl. Ophthalmic Surgery - Specialist FMH Ophthalmology and Ophthalmic Surgery

Dr. med.
Myron Kynigopoulos

Ophthalmologist, incl. ophthalmic surgery - Specialist FMH Ophthalmology and Ophthalmic Surgery

Dr. med.
Selina Zamboni Zeltner

Ophthalmologist, incl. ophthalmic surgery - Specialist FMH Ophthalmology and Ophthalmic Surgery

Rachel Lichtenstein

Swiss certified optician, eye test and spectacle prescriptions

Cornelia Walker

Swiss certified optician, eye test and spectacle prescriptions

Gabriel Bishop

Swiss certified optician, eye test and spectacle prescriptions

Agreed dates (GTC's):

If you are unable to keep your appointment, please inform us as soon as possible. Appointments booked online can be cancelled electronically up to 24 hours in advance. Appointments that are not cancelled 24 hours in advance will unfortunately be charged. The emergency surcharge can be charged according to the valid tariff for same-day appointments. Thank you for your understanding.

Weitsichtigkeit – Hyperopie

Weitsichtigkeit ist die Sehstörung, die durch unscharfes Sehen in der Nähe gekennzeichnet ist. Weitsichtigkeit, eine meist angeborene Fehlsichtigkeit, entsteht durch eine Verkürzung des Auges.

Verbesserung der Weitsichtigkeit, inkl. regelmässige Augenkontrollen

Weitsichtigkeit, eine meist angeborene Fehlsichtigkeit, entsteht durch eine Verkürzung des Auges. Wer weitsichtig ist, kann in der Ferne meistens noch gut sehen, während Gegenstände in der Nähe verschwommen erscheinen. Bei Kurzsichtigen ist es genau umgekehrt: Gegenstände in der Nähe erschein scharf und in der Ferne verschwommen.

Die normale Weitsichtigkeit kann durch zwei verschiedene Ursachen entstehen: Achsenhyperopie oder Brechungshyperopie. Liegt ein tatsächlich verkürzter Augapfel vor, kommt es zur Achsenhyperopie, die die Sehkraft einschränkt. Gibt es im Hornhautglaskörper-Augenlinsen-System (optischer Apparat) eine zu geringe Brechkraft kann es zur Brechungshyperopie kommen. Es ist für alle Betroffenen ratsam, die Augen regelmässig vom Augenarzt kontrollieren zu lassen.

Beispiele für Weitsichtigkeit - Hyperopie

Weitsichtigkeit Ohne Beeinträchtigung

Gegenstände, die sich ganz nah befinden, sind für Personen mit Weitsichtigkeit (auch Übersichtigkeit, Hyperopie oder Hypermetropie genannt) nur verschwommen zu erkennen.

Behandlungsoptionen bei Weitsichtigkeit

Behandlungs-Optionen:

Die Weitsichtigkeit kann man mit verschiedenen Methoden verbessern.

Brillengläser oder Kontaktlinsen gleichen die Fehlsichtigkeit aus.

Mit einer Operation kann man in bestimmten Fällen sogar Weitsichtigkeit heilen. Ziel ist es, dass der Patient ohne Brille scharf sehen kann.

Kombiniert man mehrere Methoden, kann die Weitsichtigkeit oft gut behandelt werden.

Operative Korrektion der Weitsichtigkeit

Beim operative Therapieverfahren wird die Hornhaut mit einem Laser dauerhaft abgeflacht.

Die Laserverfahren heissen Photorefraktive Keratektomie (PRK), LASIK oder LASEK.

Im besten Fall kann mit dem Laserverfahren die Kurzsichtigkeit geheilt werden.

Weitsichtigkeit kann bis zu einer Stärke von +4 Dioptrien mit dem Laser korrigiert werden.

Laserverfahren bei Kurzsichtigkeit und Weitsichtigkeit

Es gibt eine schier unendliche Palette an Augenlaserverfahren, die sich mehr oder weniger stark voneinander unterscheiden. Diese lassen sich in zwei wesentliche Gruppen einteilen: die oberflächlichen und die tiefen Verfahren. Der Hauptunterschied besteht dabei im Vorgehen und der Ziel-Gewebeschicht. Die wichtigsten und aktuellsten Verfahren sind die folgenden:

Femto-LASIK (Laser In Situ Keratomileusis)

Die Femto-LASIK ist die häufigst durchgeführte Laserbehandlung und Life-Style-Operation mit der höchsten Zufriedenheit am Menschen. In örtlicher Betäubung wird zuerst mit dem Femto-LASER eine dünne Lammele, ca 0.1mm dick (Flap) an der Oberfläche der Hornhaut präpariert. Das dauert ca 25 sec. Das Auge wird durch einen Lidsperrer offen gehalten (Sie können das Auge nicht schliessen).…

Trans-PRK (transepitheliale Photorefraktive Keratektomie)

Bei der trans-PRK (auch SmartSight genannt) wird in örtlicher Betäubung und nachdem ein Lidsperrer das Auge offen hält, berührungsfrei und schnittfrei die Korrektur an der Oberfläche der Hornhaut durchgeführt. Dabei wird auch das Epithel (die Zellen der Hornhautoberfläche, die sich ständig regenerieren) automatisch vom LASER entfernt. Früher wurden diese manuell vom Chirurgen entfernt (PRK-Methode). Am…

Kunstlinsen-Implantate: Korrektur von höheren Fehlsichtigkeiten

Eine Korrektur von Fehlsichtigkeiten ist ausser durch LASER-Behandlungen auch mit der Implantation von Kustlinsen im Auge, zusätzlich zur eigenen Linse (phake Linsen), sehr präzise möglich. Diese Behandlungen werden schon seit 30 Jahren durchfgeführt und schon mehrere Millionen mal durchgeführt. Der weltweite Trend zur Implamtation nimmt ständig zu. Indikationen:• Stärkere Fehlsichtigkeiten• Auch bei kleinen Korrekturen wenn…

Termine im Augencenter Wollishofen

Falls Sie keinen Online-Termin in nützlicher Zeit finden, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte per Telefon.

Dr. med.
Dominique Mustur

Inhaberin, Medizinische Leiterin, Augenärztin, inkl. Augenchirurgie - Fachärztin FMH Ophthalmologie und Ophthalmochirurgie

Dr. med.
Myron Kynigopoulos

Augenarzt, inkl. Augenchirurgie - Facharzt FMH Ophthalmologie und Ophthalmochirurgie

Dr. med.
Selina Zamboni Zeltner

Augenärztin, inkl. Augenchirurgie - Fachärztin FMH Ophthalmologie und Ophthalmochirurgie

Rachel Lichtenstein

eidg. dipl. Optikerin, Sehtest und Brillen-Rezepte

Cornelia Walker

eidg. dipl. Optikerin, Sehtest und Brillen-Rezepte

Gabriel Bishop

eidg. dipl. Optiker, Sehtest und Brillen-Rezepte

Vereinbarte Termine (AGB's):

Falls Sie den vereinbarten Termin nicht wahrnehmen können bitten wir Sie, uns so schnell wie möglich zu informieren. Online gebuchte Termin können bis 24 Stunden vorab elektronisch storniert werden. Termine, welche nicht 24 Stunden im Voraus abgesagt werden, müssen wir leider verrechnen. Der Notfallzuschlag kann gemäss gültigem Tarif bei Terminen am selben Tag verrechnet werden. Vielen Dank für Ihr Verständnis.